Glancing at INS

North East is a home for hundreds of tribes, speaking many dialects, following diverse customs, practising indigenous faiths, living in the odd villages perched on the hill tops and imagesvalleys, enjoying the nature’s richness and abundance.

The Salesian Sisters set foot in Northeast India way back in the year 1923 at Guwahati. Today, the Salesian Sisters working in the northeastern region is divided into two Provinces – The Immaculate Heart Province of Shillong (1953) and the Mater Ecclesiae Province of Guwahati (2000).

Assam: Umswai, Kabuganj

Meghalaya:Bellefonte, Nongthymmai, Mawlai, FMA-Outreach, Jowai, Lamyrsiang, Mawkyndeng, Sutnga, Nongstoin, Rambrai, Rangblang, Umdang, Mawroh, Saiden, Mawkyrdep, Mawtnum, Chapahati, Garobadha, Auxilium- Tura, Margaret Bosco – Turafma-ins-province-map

Mizoram: Vairengte, Aizawl, Kawnpui

Tripura: Bishramganj, Nandan Nagar

The Immaculate Heart Province of Shillong has its headquarter at Auxilium Convent, Nongthymmai and works in 27 communities in the seven dioceses of North East – Shillong, Jowai, Nongstoin, Tura, Diphu, Aizawl and Agartala. These houses are within the four states of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura.

The Province has reached its Golden Years of service in 2003. The Jubilee year was marked with different activities and the climax was the conclusion of the Jubilee year with the visit of Sr. Antonia Colombo; the Superior General from Rome.

The year 2013 marked the Diamond Jubilee of the Province which was gratefully and graciously celebrated on 26 October 2013.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s